Harvard College Library News: News from around the libraries

Fliss Selected 2011-12 ARL Research Library Leadership Fellow

public spaces recycling  

Associate Librarian of Harvard College for Research, Teaching, and Learning Susan Fliss


January 24, 2011 – Susan Fliss, Associate Librarian of Harvard College for Research, Teaching, and Learning, has been selected by the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) as one of 25 individuals to participate in the 2011-12 ARL Research Library Leadership Fellows (RLLF) Program.

An executive leadership program, the RLLF meets the increasing demands for succession planning for research libraries with a new approach to preparing the next generation of deans and directors. Library directors are seeking a cohort of well-trained and sophisticated candidates who possess the necessary experience and perspective to succeed in premier leadership positions in large, complex institutions. The RLLF Program provides such a cohort.

Related Links


  • Facebook
  • Twitter

This is the fourth cohort of the RLLF Program. HCL's Rebecca Graham, Associate Librarian for Preservation, Digitization, and Administrative Services, was selected to participate in the first cohort, and Marilyn Wood, Associate Librarian for Collection Management, in the second along with HUL's Tracey Robinson who heads the Office for Information Systems.

The upcoming two-year session was designed and sponsored by seven ARL member libraries: University of British Columbia Library, University of Illinois at Chicago Library, University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries, Dartmouth College Library, University of Miami Libraries, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries, and Northwestern University Library. The program begins with an introductory webinar comprised of an in-depth, 360-degree assessment overview designed to provide feedback to experienced library managers. The 2011–12 fellows will subsequently attend a Strategic Issues Institute at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries from April 3-7, 2011.

The 2011-12 RLLF applicant pool was highly competitive. The selection committee, composed of the ARL directors sponsoring the program, chose 25 fellows representing a broad array of backgrounds and experiences and from multiple ARL institutions. In addition to Fliss, the 2011–12 Fellows are:

  • Scott Britton, Director of Access, Information, and Research Services, University of Miami Libraries
  • Kathryn Carpenter, Assistant University Librarian for the Health Sciences, University of Illinois at Chicago Library
  • Jon Cawthorne, Associate University Librarian for Public Service, Boston College Libraries
  • John Culshaw, Professor and Associate Director for Administrative Services, University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries
  • José Diaz, Associate Curator, Ohio State University Libraries
  • Margaret Fry, Associate Law Librarian for Administration, Georgetown University Library
  • Jeffrey Garrett, Associate University Librarian for Special Libraries & Director, Special Collections and Archives, Northwestern University Library
  • Heather Gendron, Head, Art Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries
  • Aleteia Greenwood, Head Librarian, Science & Engineering, University of British Columbia Library
  • Joseph Hafner, Associate Director, Collection Services, McGill University Library
  • Geneva Henry, Executive Director, Center for Digital Scholarship, Rice University Library
  • Joy Kirchner, Librarian for Collections, Licensing & Digital Scholarship, University of British Columbia Library
  • Jay Lambrecht, Associate University Librarian/Associate Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago Library
  • Sarah Leadley, Library Director, University of Washington Bothell & Cascadia Community College, and Associate Dean of Libraries, University of Washington Libraries
  • Jonathan LeBreton, Senior Associate University Librarian, Temple University Libraries
  • Vivian Lewis, Associate University Librarian, Organizational Development, McMaster University Libraries
  • Mark McFarland, Associate Director for Digital Initiatives, University of Texas Libraries
  • John Renaud, Director of Collection Strategies and Scholarly Communication, University of Miami Libraries
  • Ann Riley, Associate Director for Access, Collections, and Technical Services, University of Missouri-Columbia Library
  • Marianne Ryan, Associate University Librarian for Public Services, Northwestern University Library
  • David Seaman, Associate Librarian for Information Management, Dartmouth College Library
  • Molly Tamarkin, Associate University Librarian, Information Technology, Duke University Libraries
  • Jennifer Taxman, Head of Access Services, Dartmouth College Library
  • Xuemao Wang, Associate Vice Provost, Emory University Libraries

For more information about the Research Library Leadership Fellows Program, visit the ARL Web site.

The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of 126 research libraries in the US and Canada. Its mission is to influence the changing environment of scholarly communication and the public policies that affect research libraries and the diverse communities they serve. ARL pursues this mission by advancing the goals of its member research libraries, providing leadership in public and information policy to the scholarly and higher education communities, fostering the exchange of ideas and expertise, facilitating the emergence of new roles for research libraries, and shaping a future environment that leverages its interests with those of allied organizations. ARL is on the web at http://www.arl.org/.