HCL Names 2005 Excellence in Service Award Recipients

Excellence in Service Award recipients with College Librarian Nancy Cline (second from right). Pictured are: Helene Williams, Widener Library; Vitaly Zakuta, Fine Arts Library; Atsuko Yamashita, Fung Library; Lynn Wang DeLacey, Lamont Library; Cline; and Lynn Sayers, Lamont Library.

December 13, 2005 - Dedication. Exceptional service. Creative thinking and problem-solving. These are among the traits exemplified by the first five recipients of the 2005 Excellence in Service Award, a new merit-based honor created by HCL to publicly recognize both full- and part-time HCL employees who go above and beyond the call of duty.

"As part of the Employee Recognition Program," said Sherrie Whang, Senior Human Resource Consultant, "the Excellence in Service Award provides HCL employees with the opportunity to recognize and reward their colleagues who consistently rise above challenges to contribute to HCL's success every day."

For the program’s inaugural year, the award recipients are Lynn Wang DeLacey, Bindery and Preservation Assistant, Lamont Library; Lynn Sayers, Library Administration and Events Coordinator, Lamont Library; Helene Williams, English-Language Bibliographer for the Humanities, Widener Library; Atsuko Yamashita, Library Assistant for the Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan, Fung Library; and Vitaly Zakuta, Technical Information Analyst, Fine Arts Library. Each honoree receives a $500 award.

Those recognized have much to their credit, say the HCL supervisors and colleagues who nominated them. DeLacey, for instance, is always ready to offer her wealth of experience and knowledge, whether she’s aiding students or colleagues, or advising faculty on the repair of personal texts. When HCL incorporated Morse Music & Media into Lamont, the library’s processing of non-print materials increased exponentially, but DeLacey helped by stepping up to assist with serials check-in, bindery, processing, and copy cataloging. On top of her work, she actively participates in HCL initiatives, including a past stint on Joint Council and current involvement with the Wellness Committee and PEER Program.

Sayers’ conscientious attention to maintaining Lamont’s systems (scheduling, reporting, inventories, expenses, and databases) helps keep the library operating efficiently—not to mention that she oversees scheduling for the heavily-used Lamont Forum Room. Her extra efforts helped the library meet the past year’s unusual challenges, the Hilles Library transition and Lamont’s move to a 24/5 schedule.

Williams has demonstrated beyond-the-call-of-duty service as one of HCL’s e-resources coordinators for the humanities. Working with numerous groups and individuals, she shepherds e-resource proposals though a complicated, procedure-driven system—and has done so efficiently, persistently, and with good humor. She contributes her expertise to research instructional sessions and maintains a full array of professional contributions.

Yamashita has responded to the many recent changes at the Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan with conscientious service, dedication, and creative thinking. She helped with the DCJ’s transformation from an FAS library to its new role as part of the Fung Library, assisting with two location moves. She has also offered many suggestions to improve daily operations as well as DCJ’s community-building efforts.

Zakuta has been instrumental in developing the Fine Arts Library Digital Imaging Lab from a simple image-scanning service for course websites into a multi-service imaging facility. Developing most of the workflow processes now in use, he has met the challenges of the increasingly complex world of computer-supported services and digital imaging with enthusiasm, creativity, and competence. He also possesses the much-appreciated ability to explain complicated computer issues in a language easily understood by all staff.

Candidates for the Excellence in Service Award can be nominated by any member of the HCL community. Recipients are selected by a six-member committee comprised of three support staff and three administrative/professional staff members. The selection committee is not bound to name a specific number of recipients annually, but it may not grant more than three awards to support staff members and no more than three awards to administrative/professional members per year. The current year's recipients will serve on the next year's selection committee.


Page Last Reviewed: May 12, 2009